HOSA Takes It Home

Competitors on their way to the Grand Awards Ceremony!

Competitors on their way to the Grand Awards Ceremony!

Avani Samandur

hosa state finalists
Marissa Stone, Zay Douglas, and Shruti Tirumala; HOSA State Finalists

From April 14th to April 16th, West Bloomfield High School’s Health Science Club participated in the HOSA State Leadership Conference at Grand Traverse Resort in Acme, Michigan. HOSA stands for Health Occupations Students of America.There were over 2,500 future health care professionals at the conference, from all around the state of Michigan. At the conference, HOSA students competed in events which they qualified for at the HOSA Regional Leadership Conference. WBHS is extremely proud to have three students make it to the top ten in their event; Marissa Stone, Zay Douglas and Shruthi Tirumala.


In preparation for the conference, students had to work in groups or on their own to study and practice. Liza Zanotti, HOSA co-sponsor, said that she “loved all of the group’s flexibility and positive attitude”, and she is proud of everyone.

During the competition, the students had to make sure to go to their event at the correct time, and if necessary, go back to their event for a second or third round. The students also had down time where they could attend a career fair, symposiums on topics such as the Importance of Donating Blood, or just relax. HOSA State Officers were also elected for the coming school year at this competition. Students had to qualify for this conference by competing and placing in the top ten in their event at the HOSA Regional Leadership Conference.

Marissa Stone, sophomore, competed in the clinical specialty event. She shadowed an OB/GYN, and her favorite part of HOSA was “getting to shadow a doctor because  want to be one and seeing a full baby ultra sound.”



The students who participated in the HOSA State Leadership Conference 2016 from WBHS were Carly Abrahams, Jacob Allen, Anita Anguelova, Tom (Zay) Douglas, Supriya Gupta, Elie Huez, Jensen Hwa, Dana Korogodsky, Noah Maike, Krunal Moradiya, Ziri-Canela Morales, Shion Otsuka, Jaskiran Randhawa, Avani Samandur, Rohit Samandur, Imaan Singh, Isabella Spoto, Marissa Stone, Mariam Tariq, Shruthi Tirumala, Nyteia Tyler, Kapil Vyas, and Timothy Webster.  If you are interested in joining HOSA next year, make sure to attend their next meeting on April 25th in room 502!